• Welcome to the E-Goat :: The Totally Unofficial RAF Rumour Network.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Debt and joining up

• Thread starter Thread starter rdchick
  • Start date Start date
R

rdchick

Hi everyone

I am petrified that something is going to hold me back from getting into the RAF.

I want to join to be a student nurse. I have a degree but whilst getting said degree I have quite a large amount of debt (currently stands at £7000). By the time November rolls round again I should be down to about £3000 and average payments of around £100 a month.

I have no defaults, CCJ's or other bad stuff just a loan that needs shifting (obviously got my student loans etc but don't think that's a problem).

Will this hold me back?

I have heard so many stories but all I know from the RAF is that if it is servicable (ie: if you can pay the minimum) whilst on a low wage of say £13K then it's fine.

I am trying to be as close to debt free as I can before I reapply this year but want to know if is going to be a problem if I have some debt?

Thanks in advance and good luck if you're applying too :)

xxx

Drill Bit

Sergeant
In short; no, your current situation will not preclude you from joining the RAF. There are plenty of graduates with bigger debts than yours joining the RAF; so long as you can continue to meet your payments with a RAF trainee salary then you're fine.

C

CC