• Welcome to the E-Goat :: The Totally Unofficial RAF Rumour Network.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Maths problem

• Thread starter Thread starter Wantingtojoin
  • Start date Start date
W

Wantingtojoin

Hi Everyone,

I have just signed up to this forum. Not eally sure how it all works but just hoping to hear from anyone with any advice on joining as an RAF officer. I attended an AFCO in May and due to not having maths GCSE even though I hold a degree and almost a phd would hold me back. I still can't get desire to join out of my head and am just wondering has anyone else encountered similar problems? I am most interested in Training officer/Personnel support. But more i read more regiment appeals

busby1971

Super Moderator
Staff member
1000+ Posts
What ya got

What ya got

If you have a higher level maths qual then there may be a bit of lee way.

Your AFCO will send of the details of your qual to hq and have it checked out.

If you haven't then get to your local adult college and resit your GCSE, Level 2 numeracy don't count.

Entropy

Sergeant
Just sit the GCSE exam

Just sit the GCSE exam

I was in the same boat as you, degree and no basic Maths. Believe me this has been a constant niggle in my conscience for the last 20 years (showing my age here). It has also prevented me from applying for some jobs, who knows where I would be if I only had my Maths O level.

This is what I did: