• Welcome to the E-Goat :: The Totally Unofficial RAF Rumour Network.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Paramedic To MERT / Winchman?

Dear Sir or Madam

I am writing to enquire about joining the RAF. I am currently a student paramedic working for an ambulance trust and set to register with the HPC in January. I am keen to join the RAF reserves upon qualification with the aim of attaining a place on a MERT or within SARF as a medic / winchman.

Can you please advise me the process and methodology of applying for these roles.

I am also unsure of the rank / role which my paramedic qualification will transfer within the service. I am based in South Yorkshire and also unsure of my local units for these roles.

Can you please advise on the level of training I will be required to undertake both initially and an ongoing / weekly basis.

I am very keen to go on tour but am aware of resistance from my employing ambulance trust, can you please advise the length of any tour and whether I have any protection from my employer.

I am also very keen to develop professionally, can you please advise me on training opportunities available.

Any other advice you feel relevant would be most appreciated.

Kind regards

Adam

Trusty Adjusty

Corporal